2018 and 2019 Consulate Opening Hours and Holidays

■ Opening Hours
 
Consular Section (Visa/Certificate/Passport): Mon-Fri, 09:30-12:30, 14:00-16:30
Office (Excluding the Consular Section): Mon-Fri, 09:30-12:30, 14:00-17:30

■ Emergency contact
 
If case of an accident or emergency, please phone the consulate's general number (0131-225-4777), and then call the emergency number stated in the answerphone message.

■ Important notice to visitors
 
In order to ensure safety of all visitors, Consulate General of Japan requires all visitors to go through security screenings. All visitors will be asked to produce a photo ID. Thank you very much for your understanding and cooperation.

■ 2018 holidays
 
1st Jan (Mon)  New Year’s Day
2nd Jan (Tue) Bank holiday (Scotland)
3rd Jan (Wed) New Year holiday
30th Mar (Fri) Good Friday
2nd Apr (Mon)   Easter Monday (England)
7th May (Mon)  Early May bank holiday
28th May (Mon) Spring bank holiday
16th Jul (Mon)   Marine Day
6th Aug (Mon)   Summer bank holiday (Scotland)
27th Aug (Mon)  Summer bank holiday (England)
17th Sep (Mon)   Respect for the Aged Day
8th Oct (Mon) Health and Sports Day
30th Nov (Fri) St Andrew’s Day (Scotland)
25th Dec (Tue)  Christmas Day
26th Dec (Wed)  Boxing Day
31st Dec (Mon)  End of year holiday
 

■ 2019 holidays

With the entering into force of the law concerning the enthronement of His Imperial Highness the Crown Prince and the ceremony of the enthronement of His Majesty the Emperor, at the 197th extraordinary diet session, closing dates of the Consulate General of Japan has been amended as follows.

 
1st Jan (Tue)  New Year’s Day
2nd Jan (Wed)  New Year’s Holiday
3rd Jan (Thu)  New Year Holiday
11th Feb (Mon) National Foundation Day
19th Apr (Fri) Good Friday (England & Scotland)
22nd April (Mon) Easter Monday (England)
30thApril (Tue) National Holiday
1st May (Wed) The Enthronement of His Imperial Highness the Crown Prince
2nd May (Thu) National Holiday
6th May (Mon) Early May Bank Holiday
(England & Scotland)
27th May (Mon) Spring Bank Holiday
(England & Scotland)
5th Aug (Mon)  Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland)
26th Aug (Mon) Summer Bank Holiday (England)
16th Sep (Mon) Respect-for-the-Aged Day
14th Oct (Mon)  Health and Sports Day
22nd October (Tue) The Ceremony of the Enthronement of His Majesty the Emperor
2nd Dec (Mon)  St. Andrew’s Day (Scotland)
25th Dec (Wed)  Christmas Day
26th Dec (Thu) Boxing Day
30th December (Mon) End of Year Holiday
31st Dec (Tue) End of Year Holiday